On 2019-12-27, the UN General Assembly approved a resolution strongly condemning human rights abuses against Myanmar's Rohingya, 134-9 with 28 abstentions.

I can't find which countries opposed or abstained in online news articles or on the UN website.

2 Answers 2


The voting record for the resolution is as follows:

the list of who voted what way

The countries voting against are Belarus, Cambodia, China, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Philippines, Russian Federation, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe.

The text of the resolution can be found here.

  • 8
    Why do some of them (e.g. Cuba) not have a symbol next to them? What does that mean? Dec 29, 2019 at 5:55
  • 5
    @Stormblessed They possibly didn't attend the UN GA session, so they didn't vote.
    – Panda
    Dec 29, 2019 at 6:06
  • Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation about why some countries might have voted the way they did has been moved to chat.
    – Philipp
    Dec 30, 2019 at 13:55
  • Doesn’t Russia have veto power so this didn’t pass?
    – AAM111
    Dec 30, 2019 at 21:32
  • 9
    @OldBunny2800 This vote was in the General Assembly. Veto applies only in the Security Council. Dec 30, 2019 at 21:39

Countries Voted in favor, against or abstained.

In favour:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Yemen.


Belarus, Cambodia, China, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Philippines, Russian Federation, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe.


Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Burundi, Cameroon, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Fiji, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, India, Japan, Kenya, Lesotho, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Serbia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Zambia.

The data has been taken from this source page 5-6

  • 3
    Thanks @AbdulMuheet. Is that the most electronic-friendly format the UN publish listing votes?
    – smci
    Dec 30, 2019 at 8:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .