I am curious about reverse-pivot areas by municipality. A reverse pivot area is defined as an electoral jurisdiction that voted Republican in 2008 and 2012 but voted Democratic in 2016 for president. I want a list of towns that acted this way in the last three elections in New Jersey.

There are 6 such counties in the US and half of those are in Georgia. I know they exist because I live in one in NJ.


By using the municipality-level data from the NJ Division of Elections, for 2008, 2012, and 2016, there are 16 such municipalities, in five counties.

enter image description here

Bergen County

  • Allendale Boro
  • Alpine Boro
  • Englewood Cliffs Boro
  • Norwood Boro
  • Oradell Boro

Camden County

  • Tavistock Boro

Morris County

  • Chatham Boro
  • Chatham Twp.
  • Morris Plains Boro
  • Randolph Twp.

Somerset County

  • Bernards Twp.
  • Bridgewater Twp.
  • Raritan Boro
  • Watchung Boro

Union County

  • Berkeley Heights Twp.
  • New Providence Boro

You must log in to answer this question.