2020 was an unusual year for Georgia elections because they voted on both of their Senate seats after Senator Johnny Isakson's resignation in 2019 triggered an off-year special election between his appointed successor Kelly Loeffler and Raphael Warnock.

Since Isakson was a Class III Senator, and Warnock won the election, does he inherit this position and will need to be re-elected in 2022? If I understand correctly, 2020 was a Class I election, thus Ossoff is good til 2026?

  • What do you mean "Constitutionally required to be held separately"? Jan 6, 2021 at 15:38
  • Article 1, Section 3 of the U.S. Constitution > Immediately after they shall be assembled in Consequence of the first Election, they shall be divided as equally as may be into three Classes. The Seats of the Senators of the first Class shall be vacated at the Expiration of the second Year, of the second Class at the Expiration of the fourth Year, and of the third Class at the Expiration of the sixth Year, so that one third may be chosen every second Year
    – jbro74
    Jan 6, 2021 at 15:44
  • What part of that is unusual to Georgia? Jan 6, 2021 at 15:45
  • @AzorAhai-him- none of it is unique to Georgia, but Georgia is unique in that it is the only state that is electing two senators at once in the elections for the 117th congress. Electing two senators at once is somewhat unusual, but It has happened before, for example when Kirsten Gillibrand and Chuck Schumer both won reelection in New York in 2010.
    – phoog
    Jan 6, 2021 at 16:53
  • @phoog Then I'm not sure what the first sentence means Jan 7, 2021 at 1:46

1 Answer 1


Warnock is elected in a special election (Class III) to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Senator Johnny Isakson. Warnock will serve for the remainder of Senator Isakson's term which ends on January 3, 2023. This explains why he will be up for re-election in 2022.

Ossoff is elected in a scheduled election (Class II) so his 6-year term will end on January 3, 2027. He will thus be up for re-election in 2026. (Note that this seat is a Class II seat, not I as mentioned in your question. All 2020 scheduled Senate elections were Class II seats.)

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .