-2

What are the poll results regarding how many people think that the international community and the West are too soft on Putin by more or less allowing Russia to destroy Ukraine and Ukrainians?

4
  • 1
    This is not a site for debate, but for question and answers. If you can reformat it as something other than a request for opinions, it might be salvageable as on-topic. Jun 25, 2022 at 7:27
  • 1
    I take it you want to know polling results? Or something else? Jun 25, 2022 at 7:31
  • It is imposible to know what people exactly think.
    – convert
    Jun 25, 2022 at 11:20
  • How strong is public opinion in which country?
    – convert
    May 27, 2023 at 14:05

1 Answer 1

6

Germany, a poll by the broadcaster ARD. Among other things:

  • 29% believe that German arms deliveries are insufficient, 42% believe they are appropriate, 23% think they go too far.
  • 41% believe that German sanctions are insufficient, 37% think they are appropriate, 15% think they go too far.
  • 41% believe that German diplomacy is insufficient, 43% think it is appropriate, 8% think it goes too far.
  • 50% believe that the German government should show strength against Russia, 43% believe it should be careful not to provoke it.

So public opinion is somewhere between "just right" and "too soft."

The ARD has a reasonably solid reputation in Germany, but a vocal minority considers it "mainstream media controlled by the elites." 1,337 participants from May 30th to June 1st.

16
  • 2
    But ARD is mainstream media controlled by the state and it has prooven to distribute some wrong information, like for example about Russia bombing its own cities.
    – convert
    Jun 25, 2022 at 11:57
  • 2
    @convert, I guess you belong to that vocal minority I mentioned in the last paragraph.
    – o.m.
    Jun 25, 2022 at 12:14
  • 1
    @Trilarion, 3% I believe, but in a question like this it is much more criticial that the data is almost a month old. Note that such an error would still support my conclusion -- the average sits on the margin of "just right" leaning towards "too soft."
    – o.m.
    Jun 25, 2022 at 14:15
  • 1
    @o.m. Why you think it´s minority? Even some mainstream journalists have confirmed that ARD is biased.
    – convert
    Jun 25, 2022 at 15:09
  • 1
    @convert Then these some mainstream journalists are a minority. Believe me, I talk with a lot of Germans and ARD is one of the most trustworthy sources for them. But this could surely be another question. How independent is public TV in Germany for example? Jun 25, 2022 at 16:21

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .