Does the Govt. of India has any restriction in formation of new union territories? If yes, what are the options left for those regions with strong justifications for a separate status from the existing state?


Indian Parliament, as per the Article 3 of Indian Constitution, has the powers to form and admit any new state/UT to Indian Union, by tabling a bill in Parliament on the President's recommendation for amending the first schedule of the Constitution after due consultations with the legislatures of the affected states.

|improve this answer|||||

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .